Hot Books for the Sand

June 4, 2015 | By | Comments (5)

There’s something about salt air breezes, sunshine, and the smell of sunscreen that make you want to dive into a great new book. Every year, we’re lucky enough to pore through dozens of the best new releases (with toes in the sand, or sometimes, at home with images of umbrella drinks floating through our heads). Here are some of the reads we’re loving right now:

Photo: Amazon.com

Photo: Amazon.com

The Daylight Marriage by Heidi Pitlor
Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will delight in this familiar tale—a wife goes missing after an argument, and the police, and her curiously unemotional husband, embark on a hunt to find out what happened. The mystery will keep you on the edge of your beach chair, but the real attraction to this book is the author’s beautiful portrayal of a marriage in peril, of two people whose lives have become heartbreakingly ordinary, and how it forever altered their personalities.

 

Photo: amazon.com

Photo: Amazon.com

Born with Teeth by Kate Mulgrew
If you’ve been counting down the days until the Season 3 premiere of Netflix’s Orange is the New Black, you’ll enjoy diving into this memoir from one its most beloved, firy haired characters. Get to know actress Kate Mulgrew in an entirely different light, as she recounts stories from her upbringing in an unconventional Irish Catholic family, of the daughter she lost, and the emotions that fed her desire to pursue a creative life. Richly descriptive and relatable, the book will make you a fan of Mulgrew, regardless of whether you’re hooked on the show.

 

Photo: Courtesy of publisher

Photo: Courtesy of Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

Valley Fever by Katherine Taylor 
Following a bad breakup, a young woman reluctantly returns to her hometown in California’s wine country, where her family has run a vineyard for generations. When her father becomes ill, she’s thrust into the role of managing the vineyard, and soon rediscovers her love for a life she’s spent years running away from. Poignant, funny, and intelligently written, this feel-good novel of self-discovery is perfect for carefree days on the sand.

 

918lXfmabPL._SL1500_

Photo: Amazon.com

The Sweetheart Deal by Polly Dugan
When a young woman’s husband passes away and his best friend comes to comfort her, it seems like a strictly platonic gesture. When she begins to develop feelings for him—and then learns of the pact he made with her late husband to marry her in the event of his death—all things change. A charming, poignant novel of dealing with grief and finding love again, this is the perfect light-hearted page-turner for the shore.

 

810Im6SdwgL._SL1500_

Photo: Amazon.com

The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma
This deeply imaginative, stirring debut novel is set in Nigeria in the 1990s, the author’s home country. It tells the story of four brothers who break away from their parents’ guidance to fish at a local river, which puts into motion a series of events that combine the superstitious and political into a rich blend that emulates the state of this African nation. A madman’s curse pits two of the brothers against each other in a Cain and Abel setting, and the results are horrifying. For those interested in a gripping, at times nail-biting, read, give this new author a try.

Find more of our favorite reads here!

COMMENTS

  1. Hot New Memoir: The Box Wine Sailors | CoastalLiving.com

    […] Check out five more new releases our editors loved this year. […]

    October 26, 2015 at 4:27 pm
  2. Hot New Memoir: The Box Wine Sailors | beach-decor.info

    […] Check out five more new releases our editors loved this year. […]

    October 27, 2015 at 1:53 am
  3. 5 Authors Share Their Dream Writing Destinations | CoastalLiving.com

    […] Hot Books for the Sand […]

    February 29, 2016 at 12:19 pm
  4. Best Beach Reads from Coastal Authors | CoastalLiving.com

    […] Summer Books for the Sand […]

    April 1, 2016 at 3:40 pm
  5. 16 Hot New Books to Read this Summer | CoastalLiving.com

    […] Hot Books for the Sand […]

    June 28, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s